(355)

Corey J.

Certified Peer Supporter

Accepting New Connections

Hello! I struggled for a long time with many mental health challenges, but now I am doing well. I would like to support peers on their own journeys towards mental wellness, whatever that looks like for you all!

Willing to help others find local resources
English

About Corey Jones

Biography

I am a certified peer specialist in Atlanta, GA and I love what I do! I am knowledgeable about support groups of all kinds and can support you on learning more about them-on heypeers. Currently I facilitate the Heypeers Certified meeting "Get It Done When You're Depressed, " and I co-facilitate the LGBTQ+ Wake-Up Narcolepsy group. I am taking a short break from scheduling 1:1 peer sessions but I aiming to resume them in December 2023. You can continue to send me connection requests and chats. I am queer, neurodivergent, love DBT, creating art, writing, my animals, and nerdy stuff. I have my own business, Hope Is Real LLC, and I am the author of two books: Hope Is Real: I Have A Purpose and Hope Is Real: Radical Recovery Prayers. @Brighthopeart on Instagram. Website is hopepersists.com

Specialties

My Recovery Story

Learning skills, like those in Dialectical Behavioral Therapy, gratitude, medication, art, and peer support all help me live the life I desire. I am manifesting my best life!

My Motivation To Help

The last time I was hospitalized in a mental hospital, I was supported more by my peers than by the staff. Now, I want to give that support back to other peers.

My Chatrooms

Get It Done When You're Depressed (GIDWYD)

Members: 1396

This chat is for anyone interested in Get It Done When You’re Depressed: 50 Strategies for Keeping Your Life on Track By Julie A. Fast and John D. Preston, and working through the book in our weekly meetings hosted by Diana and Chance.

Anxiety Support Group - LGBT

Members: 630

Designed for members interested in Anxiety Support Groups specific to the queer community.

Art Heals

Members: 604

Share your art-poetry, paintings, music, etc. How does art help you?

Certificate

Upcoming meetings

Monday, July 15
Friday, July 19
Monday, July 22
Friday, July 26
Monday, July 29
Friday, August 02
Monday, August 05
Friday, August 09
Monday, August 12
Friday, August 16
Friday, August 23
Friday, August 30
Friday, September 06
Friday, September 13
Friday, September 20
Friday, September 27